About Hankooktyre

Media centre


Here are the latest national and international news on Hankook Tyre.
Date 11.11.2013 Count 6512

Hankook Dominates Time Attack SA

Cars running Hankook tyres have dominated the Hankook-sponsored SA Time Attack held recently at Mallala Raceway, South Australia. Class winners for the three Open, Club and Street classes were all running Hankook tyres, and were significantly ahead of the competition.

Mark Jantke’s Nissan GT-R won the Hankook Time Attack Images by 35Prime Photography.

Mark Jantke won the fastest Open Class in his Nissan Skyline R32 GT-R, setting a dominating time of 1min:11.2seconds, and a personal best, aided by running Hankook Ventus TD Z221 radial tyres. “The Hankooks provided the extra grip I needed to take out the Open Class crown”, enthused Mark.

Mark’s GT-R on Hankooks proved a dominating combination, winning the Open class by a massive 4.4 seconds, back to Shane Carroll’s Mitsubishi Lancer Evo 5, also running Hankook Ventus TD Z221 tyres.

Ryan Probert’s Nissan 200SX won the Club Class on Hankooks. Images by 35Prime Photography.

The Club Class was hotly contested with Ryan Probert in his ISC Performance Nissan 200SX taking the win with a time of 1m:16.1s on Hankook’s Ventus TD Z221 radial tyres. Ryan said: “the 221 is the best tyre I have used by far!”

Equally impressive was the runner-up spot in the Club Class, the Evo 7 of Anthony Gray, who was using Hankook’s R-S3 street tyre. With vehicle modifications that pushed him from the Street Class, Gray came with 0.4 seconds of an upset, with Leigh Williams’ Z221-shod 200SX rounding out a top three podium, just 0.1 off Gray, all reinforcing the speed of the road and race Ventus R-S3.

Jamie Kim won the Street Class, his Evo 5 running Hankook tyres. Images by 35Prime Photography.

The progression of Time Attack and seeing times tumble and is clearly evident in the Street Class, designed for street tyres such as the R-S3. A strong field of street cars competed, but the Hankook Ventus R-S3-tyred Mitsubishi Evo 5 of Jamie Kim was more than a second faster than his nearest competitor! Setting a benchmark time of 1:18.6, the Hankook R-S3 was the tyre to run, finishing first and third, and filling five of the top ten spots.

Hankook tyres continued their popularity in Time Attack, with 44 percent of the field choosing Hankook tyres.

Hankook Tyre’s authorised Dealer, Mark Povey from SA Motorsport Tyres was equally impressed with the cars, crews and event: “We have seen a huge rise of the popularity of Time Attack. As naming rights sponsor for an event where competitors are allowed to choose their brand, it’s great to see almost half the field choosing the performance and durability of Hankook’s Ventus motorsport tyres ? proving ideal for competition from circuit racing to tarmac rally and time attack.

“Whether the R-compound Z221 or the R-S3, it’s the competitors who ultimately prove the performance of Hankook’s tyres.”

Mark Jantke’s Nissan GT-R won the Hankook Time Attack Images by 35Prime Photography.

1. Mark Jantke, R32 Nissan Skyline GT-R, Hankook Ventus Z221, 1m:11.2s
2. Shane Carroll, Mitsubishi Evo 5 RS, Hankook Ventus Z221, 1m:15.8s

1. Ryan Probert, Nissan 200SX, Hankook Ventus Z221, 1m:16.1s
2. Anthony Gray, Mitsubishi Evo 7, Hankook Ventus R-S3, 1m:16.4s
3. Leigh Williams, Nissan 200SX, Hankook Ventus Z221, 1m:16.5s

1. Jamie Kim, Mitsubishi Evo 5, Hankook Ventus R-S3, 1m:18.6s
3. Evan Harvey, Mitsubishi Evo 6, Hankook Ventus R-S3, 1m:20.2s

Image by 35Prime Photography.